Shortlist for Croydon i-Street competition announced

The shortlist for the Croydon i-Street competition, organised by influential architectural publication Architects’ Journal and supported by Croydon Council, has been announced today. The competition was free to enter and drew over 60 submissions from all over the world when it was launched in April.

The competition called for innovative technology-led designs which would give the public space in Croydon a revamp, focusing on the pedestrian route from West Croydon station to Fairfield Halls. The route is an integral part of Croydon’s landscape, passing the iconic Whitgift Shopping centre, Whitgift Almshouses and the unique Art Deco Segas House.

The projects had to be deliverable and aimed to upgrade pedestrian movement and wayfinding and to provide information about upcoming events, part of Croydon’s regeneration scheme. All shortlisted projects are workable and cost-effective but also fit within the changing streetscape and specific atmosphere of Croydon. The competition was launched as part of the Growth Zone programme, delivered with the Mayor of London, which is effectively turning Croydon into a tech and cultural hub in the South of the city.

The final judging will take place in the end of July with the winner announced in August, who will then have the opportunity to develop its project into a fully functional scheme. The shortlisted teams are:

  • Atkins London
  • Connected Space, Rise Gallery, Tate Harmer & Lighting Partners
  • CW Studio with Falconer Chester Hall, Chris Mullany Creative Technologist, Light Collective, Vestre Street Furniture & Hardscape
  • McGregor Coxall (UK) with Denton Corker Marshall, 18 Degrees, Wolfströme, Momentum Transport and Intellectsoft
  • Tyréns with Hawkins\Brown, Jason Bruges Studio and Fourth Street
  • vPPR